Sports Day

This year, like every year, one of my favorite late summer events is the school sports festival.  Just like in years past, I was not assigned a team.  Instead of being annoyed, though, I decided to roll with it and use my lack of team to my advantage.  Namely, an opportunity to tie dye (as I may have mentioned in a previous post).

The festival was great as always and this year I actually got to run in the relay.  Last year I couldn’t due to my ankle.  I wasn’t as fast as I would like, despite training for an upcoming race, but I never am.  Still, the day was fun and a lot of the students really enjoyed signing my shirt.  I had to turn it around and wear it backwards about three or four times just so students could find non-awkward places to sign.  I ended up not taking nearly as many photos as I normally do because of how many students wanted to sign my shirt, but I still managed to get quite a few.

 

The shirt on the English Board the next week.  The shirt has surprisingly stayed, but the pictures keep disappearing.

The shirt on the English Board the next week. The shirt has surprisingly stayed, but the pictures keep disappearing.

It wasn’t my favorite sports festival out of the four I’ve attended, but I think that’s kind of to be expected.  After four years of basically the same event, it loses some of it’s luster and appeal.  Still, it definitely wasn’t bad and I was rarely bored, so it was still much better than last year when I just had to sit back and watch the whole day.

Leave a Reply

