Year 4 Bucket List Update

I’m about to start my fourth year in Japan, so it’s time to take a look back at my Japanese bucket list and see what I still need to do:

  1. Attend a taiko (drums) class in Hyuga
  2. Climb Fuji-san
  3. Do hanami (cherry blossom viewing).
  4. Eat at a conveyor belt sushi bar
  5. Explore some abandoned places
  6. Fold 1000 cranes
  7. Get my gamer geek on in Akihabara.
  8. Get over my vendetta and try natto again.
  9. Go camping.
  10. Go on a bike trip.
  11. Go skiing or snowboarding
  12. Go to a concert
  13. Go to a Jazzercise class.
  14. Go to Hiroshima
  15. Go to the Studio Ghibli Museum.
  16. Go to Universal Studios Japan 
  17. Hang out with all the cool people in Osaka
  18. Hike the Magome-Tsumago Trail in Spring
  19. Hit all of the tourist spots in Miyazaki
  20. Learn to surf
  21. Make another set of jinbei
  22. Only speak Japanese for a whole day
  23. Participate in a festival (not just go to one)
  24. Pass the N2 Japanese Language Proficiency Test.
  25. Pass the N3
  26. Perform with my taiko club
  27. Pick up a new martial art.
  28. Shikoku road trip with Jen
  29. Start running again
  30. Take a train trip from the southern part of Kyushuu to Hokkaido
  31. Take the GRE.
  32. Take the night ferry to Osaka.
  33. Take the shinkansen (bullet train) anywhere.
  34. Try a weird flavored Kit Kat.
  35. Try kyudo.
  36. Try to minimize, live with less
  37. Visit all four main islands of Japan.
  38. Visit an onsen (hot spring)
  39. Visit Aokigahara (Suicide Forest).
  40. Visit at least 9 out of 18 UNESCO sites in Japan (4 down, 5 to go)
  41. Visit Ellen
  42. Visit every prefecture on Kyushu
  43. Visit Hokkaido in the spring/ summer
  44. Visit Jennifer again
  45. Visit Kyoto.
  46. Visit Okinawa.
  47. Visit Osaka again
  48. Visit Shizuko again in Nagoya
  49. Visit South Korea
  50. Visit Thailand
  51. Visit Singapore
  52. Visit the Imperial Palace
  53. Visit the Peace Memorial in Hiroshima.
  54. Visit the synagogue in Tokyo
  55. Watch a sumo match
  56. Wisteria Flower Tunnel

As of Monday I can cross surfing off of my list.  Monday was a national holiday (Umi no Hi/ Sea Day) so it’s only fitting that I spent it at the beach.  One of the CIRs (coordinator for international relations) in the capital organized a surfing lesson for about 9 of us.  We each got boards and instructors to teach us.  It was a lot of fun, but really exhausting.  My ankle was screaming by the end of it, and I drank more saltwater than I probably should have, but it was fun and I’m glad I did it.  Though, I don’t think I’ll be doing it again anytime soon.

Proof of my uncoordinated self attempting to stand.

I managed to stand a few times, but I fell more than I stood.  Still, I can officially say I surfed, so it’s a win overall.

3 thoughts on “Year 4 Bucket List Update

    • I think I started with 50ish originally, but then in later posts I added some and over time some became impossible (i.e. visiting a friend in a place she no longer lives.)

Leave a Reply

