Korea: Day Two

On Friday we woke up bright and early (my definition of sleeping in, Ellen’s definition of why are people even awake at this time) and headed to Starbucks for breakfast.  I have a bad habit of grabbing Starbucks for breakfast wherever I am, but I know they’ll always have the two things I need for breakfast: something with protein and coffee.  After that, we headed to the Han River to check it out.  Because it was early and hazy/rainy, we had the area basically to ourselves.

After the river, we headed to a palace.

For lunch we went to the foreigner area and got some Mexican food.  As I am quickly learning, I am pretty weak when it comes to spicy food, but I persevered and managed to eat some delicious buffalo wings.

IMG_0771

 

 

After lunch we went to a shopping area and wandered around for a bit.  I had managed to forget to put earrings in before leaving my apartment the previous day, so surgical steel earrings were a priority.  They can be kind of hard to find, but I was pleasantly surprised when Ellen found me a store that had a bunch of them for dirt cheap.  I got two sets of small studs for about $5.  It was great.  We also visited a very interesting shopping center.  The whole thing is built on a steady and spiraling incline.  Once you go up to the second floor, you can access all of the other floors via the ramp walkway.

IMG_0774

While we were there, we also found some poop-shaped bread.  Intrigued, we decided we had to try it out.  Thankfully, the actual product involved 0% poop and was 100% delicious.

IMG_0776

For dinner that night we picked up some fried chicken (super popular in Korea to the point where you can’t go more than three feet without seeing a chicken restaurant) and watched Dexter in the hotel room.

DSC03686

3 thoughts on “Korea: Day Two

Leave a Reply

