Farewell Party

Last Friday I got on a train for the first time since my accident.  It came after a crazy day filled with a lot of close scheduling, but I made it.  Not only that, but I ended up on the same train as Julia who I hadn’t seen since before winter vacation.  We were able to spend the ride catching up, which is always nice.  We then walked towards our respective hotels together.

The walk from the train station to my hotel was also first time I’ve been able to walk 20 minutes (almost straight) since the accident.  Though I was really sore, it was a major accomplishment for me.  I checked in, showered, changed, and headed down to help set up for the farewell party.

The party itself was a huge success and probably the best JET event I’ve attended since coming.  The set up went smoothly, all of the Board members were amazing and took care of their assigned tasks, and the food was completely edible.  Though we probably won’t want to use the same venue every time, it is definitely my favorite place so far.

The farewell speeches are what really made the night perfect.  The MAJET Board had asked one person from each year to give a speech.  My favorite was Larissa and Julian’s.  They wrote new Miyazaki-themed lyrics for the Fresh Prince of Bel-Air’s opening song.  I’m going to have to ask them for the karaoke video they made to go along with it.  That thing deserves to be immortalized.  (Or at least uploaded to Youtube or the MAJET site.)

Cleanup went just as smoothly as set up and after the party I limped back up to my hotel room.  While I wish I had been able to go to the afterparty, my ankle was telling me that it was time to call it a night.  While I had to push myself, it was completely worth it.  I had a great time and I am glad I went.

One thought on “Farewell Party

Leave a Reply

