Daily Life in the Hospital

Though I’m home now (YAAAAY), I thought some people may be interested in what daily life was like for me in the hospital.

My bed in the hospital.

My bed in the hospital.

6:00/6:30ish Wake Up

The nurses would come into my room and wake me up (the few times I was still sleeping) between 6 and 6:30.  They would take my blood pressure and temperature and ask me about my pain.  Then they would check the swelling in my Hobbit foot and check my stitches/ staples.

7:00 Tea Time

A nurse would come around with hot green tea.

7:30 Breakfast

Breakfast was brought in around 7:30 and I had about 45 to eat before the tray was collected.  Breakfast was pretty standard Japanese fare.  Miso soup, rice, some sort of fish typically, and veggies.  Most of the time, I couldn’t stomach it first thing in the morning.  I would drink the veggie/fruit juice I got, have some of the rice, and then supplement the meal with something from my snack cache.

An example of one of the breakfasts: I got an egg instead of fish, but I'm pretty sure the egg was made of plastic.

An example of one of the breakfasts: I got an egg instead of fish, but I’m pretty sure the egg was made of plastic.

When I was receiving antibiotics via IV, the nurse would come in after breakfast and hook me up.  Sometime in the morning, my doctor would stop by and check on me.  Tomoko-san would also normally stop by sometime in the morning and check on me.

I then had the rest of the morning to stave off boredom with whatever I could.

11:00 Tea Time

Time for another mug of green tea (in the mug I had to bring from home).

11:30 Lunch

Lunch was typically the most edible meal of the day.  I could never eat all of the rice (I just didn’t have the appetite to do so, especially since I was sitting around all day).

IMG_0604 IMG_0590 IMG_0598 IMG_0563 IMG_06071:00 Visiting Hours

Visiting hours were from 1-8pm.  I had at least one person visit me every day.  Most days I had more (I have amazing friends).

2:30 Shower Time

My shower time varied from day to day.  I had to ask to be put on the shower schedule in the morning and I often did not know what time my physical therapy would be.  Thankfully, I could shower by myself and get myself there by myself in the wheelchair.  It was a little bit of much needed independence.

3:30ish Physical Therapy (Rehabilitation, as it’s called here)

I had an amazing and nice physical therapist named Hidaka.  She was really easy to chat with and I am a little sad that I’m being transferred to a PT clinic closer to my apartment.  However, I’m going to really appreciate it especially when I’m able to walk to and from sessions.  (It’s a three minute walk.)  At first the sessions were just stretching and massages, then I had to start putting weight on my foot, and trying to walk using the parallel bars.

4:45 Tea time

And yet again.

5:30ish Dinner

See lunch.

Then I had time to kill until lights out.  The nurses would come through and take my temperature and blood pressure one more time.

9:00 Lights out

The nurses teased me a bit because I actually went to bed when the lights went out instead of staying up with my personal light on.  I reminded them that I woke up around 5:30 most days.

I had the room to myself for five of the seven nights I was in the hospital, so I didn’t have to worry about waking anyone up, which was nice.  It also meant that I could keep the room at a temperature comfortable for me (except when the nurses sometimes turned it up in the middle of the night).  I basically ended up getting a single room for the cost of a double.  It was great.

Now I’m home.  The first thing I did when I got home was take an unschedule shower, it was wonderful.  I’ve got about three weeks of hard work ahead of me and two months until I make a full recovery.  Then I just need to work on getting myself in good condition to help me quickly recovery from the surgery in November to take out the plate.

 

One thought on “Daily Life in the Hospital

Leave a Reply

