Culture Day Two, The Culturing

Day two of the culture festival at my school is the booth day.  During the morning, homerooms set up tents on the parking lot and try to sell as much as they can.  I try to buy at least one small/cheap thing from each booth, but some of the students quickly realized that if they call me over and actually ask me to buy something, I will buy it.  I just can’t say no.

DSCN0396

DSCN0401 DSCN0402 DSCN0404 DSCN0407 DSCN0406 DSCN0417

 

It’s because of this inability to say no that I ended up with more treats than I ever needed and a scrunchie.

 

While this was going on, there were a few stations set up in the school itself.  The library had been transformed into a kids playroom.

IMG_3331 IMG_3334 IMG_3347

This is all made from cloth and paper.

This is all made from cloth and paper.

It was incredibly the word that the students had put into the decorations.

Some of the cooking students ran a little restaurant (that only served two dishes) for lunch.

IMG_3359

The students preparing for the restaurant.

 

In the afternoon we all gathered back into the gym for presentations.  All of the third year homerooms have 15 minutes to do whatever kind of performance they want.  The first group that went decided to do a few dances.  It was really cool: they did one of their dances with glowsticks in the darks.  They made cool shapes with the glowsticks.  Another group did a bunch of different skits of scenes from the their classroom.  Most of the time I didn’t understand what was going on, but a few of the skits I actually understood.  Regardless, the performances were all cute.

It was a long but fun day.  I can’t wait until the next school event: marathon day.

Leave a Reply

