Happy Halloween…Month

On Saturday, I was asked to attend two different kids Halloween events.  One was in Kadogawa, about 10 minutes from my train station, and the other was in Nobeoka, a 35 minute ride.  My friend, Misaki, picked me up from the Kadogawa train station for the first party: a Halloween party with her English conversation class.  It was a lot of fun to hang out with the kids and I was amazed to find how much my Japanese has improved since the last time I worked at a kids party in December.  I actually understood some of what the kids said.  Considering at that age a lot of them are still trying to figure out their native language, I consider that a major accomplishment.  I even managed to get an otherwise completely silent 2 year old to say a few words.  Even Misaki said that she had never heard the girl say a word.

Plus, I got to be Pikachu.

Although, the whole thing is made of fleece and I was absolutely melting.

All in all, it was really fun.  I even managed to use my Japanese to get a kid to mostly stop hitting other kids.  A successful party.

Next up was my monthly English book reading at the Nobeoka library.  Though I was exhausted at that point, it was fun as always and it was a nice chance to see some ALTs who I hadn’t seen for a while.

Two Halloween events down, two more to go.

6 thoughts on “Happy Halloween…Month

Leave a Reply

