Takachiho: There and Back Again

As part of Lauren’s continuing birthday celebration, six of us packed into her (thankfully not kei car sized) car and headed up to Takachiho.  When you google “Miyazaki Prefecture” Takachiho’s gorge is one of the first images you see, along with the Moai heads of Nichinan.  I had been to Takachiho before, but it was at the end of a long Golden Week road trip, so I didn’t get as much out of the visit the first time as I did the second time.

After we got to the gorge, Julia and I raced ahead to put our names in for the boats.  Paddling boats up and down the gorge is one of the main attractions of the gorge and as a result, the wait times get long pretty quickly.  By the time we had gotten there (about 9:30) the wait time was already up to 4 and a half to 5 hours long.  Thankfully, once we put our names in, we didn’t have to wait around.  Instead, we were given a time to come back, so we spent the time wandering around the gorge.

After that, it was finally our turn for the boats.  Unlike last time, I didn’t row, so I was able to actually get some cool pictures this time.

After boating, we had had our fill of the gorge and headed over to one of the town’s famous shrines.  The shrine (and the famous cave that goes along with it) was built to honor the sun goddess.  The cave is where she supposedly hid for a while.  (I really need to brush up on my Japanese mythology.)

We then had dinner at a little restaurant that the local JET had recommended.  After dinner we went to a show at Takachiho Shrine, the main one in the town.  It was a cool show (though I did fall asleep at the beginning because it was hot and I was ridiculously tired.)

I did get a quick video and some pictures.

IMG_2940 IMG_2941

Most importantly, Lauren had a good time on her birthday mini road trip.  I’m glad I went and I’m glad I have the day off today so I can recover from the long (but awesome) day yesterday.

Leave a Reply

