Tokyo: Day One

If you didn’t catch my last post, or the countdowns I have on the side of my site, you might have missed the fact that I was in Tokyo for a long weekend.  The main purpose of the trip was to see my friend Ellen who lives way up north.  I took off work on Friday and headed to the airport.  I always get a little stressed about flying, mostly because of security, but I forgot how easy it is at Miyazaki’s airport.  I had a full bottle of water (that I totally forgot about), but they didn’t even test it.  I showed them my ticket and walked on through.  Basically.  I still had to go through the metal detector and everything, but over all, it was really easy.

Then it was a short wait at the new and improved airport (they added a lounge area with electrical outlets) before heading to Tokyo.  After a bit of a struggle with the confusing Tokyo train system, I finally got on the right train and headed to meet Ellen at Asakusa station.  We went to the hostel to drop our things then continued on to the Ghibli museum.  If you don’t know who Ghibli is, he’s a bit like the Japanese Disney (but I’m pretty sure people don’t like you making that comparison).  He’s an amazing animator and story-teller.  Some of his works include “My Neighbor Totoro,” “Spirited Away,” and “Princess Mononoke.”

The tickets were made of bits of film.

The tickets were made of bits of film.

Totoro outside of the museum.

Totoro outside of the museum.

IMG_2502

 

After the awesome museum we headed back to Asakusa (the area we stayed in) and wandered around a bit.  Ellen showed me the most famous old thing in Asakusa: the Thunder Gate.  It was absolutely packed with tourists and rickshaw drivers hoping to snag some new patrons.

IMG_2500 IMG_2499 IMG_2498We headed back to the hostel after picking up some food at a conbini.  I crashed pretty early so that I’d have plenty of energy for day two.

 

One thought on “Tokyo: Day One

Leave a Reply

