Golden Week Road Tripping, Day 4

The last day of our trip was to Takachiho, a town to the northwest of Hyuga.  It’s famous for it’s beautiful gorge.

At first we just wandered around the trails and took pictures.  There was also a chance to go boating in the gorge, but there was a two hour wait time.  So we put in our name and then went back to wandering.  As we were wandering, a tv crew found us and interviewed Cassie and I.  It was particularly awkward because not only was the interviewer having some trouble coming up with questions in English, but Cassie and I had the same answers for the questions.  She would answer, I would no in agreement, then he would ask me the same question, and I would repeat Cassie’s answer.  Finally, it got to the last to the last question.  Cassie answered, then I looked the interviewer dead in the eye, smiled, and answered in Japanese.

I’m pretty sure the cameraman was trying to avoid laughing.

They day was awesome and the weather was beautiful.

IMG_1993 IMG_1997

We had to catch our lunch as it slid by.  Noodles are put down this long water slide.  You catch them as they go by.

We had to catch our lunch as it slid by. Noodles are put down this long water slide. You catch them as they go by.

IMG_2004 IMG_2006 IMG_2011 IMG_2010 IMG_2013 IMG_2014

However, Deepa did confirm some of my fears about being invisible as a foreigner.  I was wearing my hat with my ponytail and just a pair of jeans and my favorite sweater/hoodie thing.  Apparently she was hiking behind me for a good fifteen minutes before she realized it was me.  She thought I was some Japanese woman.

Sometimes my superpowers are useful.  Sometimes they’re kind of annoying.  But either way, there’s not much I can do about it.  Maybe I should have dyed my hair blonde before coming, but there’s nothing to be done now, but to sit back and enjoy the benefits.

 

Leave a Reply

