Yet Another Ceremony

In the opening ceremony for the returning students (2nd and 3rd years), I will admit that I spaced out for most of it.  However, there were a few interesting moments when I swear I tried my hardest to listen.  First was the principal’s speech.  He always has some interesting topics.  Last time he spoke about fortune cookies.  This time he was using the comic, “Slam Dunk,” as a framing device for….something.  Ok, so I sort of tuned out during that one too.  But, to be fair, it was a lot of Japanese and I had sort of reached my limit for the day.  After that and a few more speeches, it was time to read the school song.

This time I took my cue from the other students and actually remembered that the words to the song are written on a giant piece of paper hanging on the gym wall.  I more or less read my way through with the rest of them.  Once that was done, we all took our seats.  A few of the teachers started to disappear from their seats and gather at the back of the gym.  I had no idea what was going on.  Was a student sick?  I was pretty sure one of those “teachers” was a nurse.  Was it a medical emergency?  If there was an emergency, why was no one telling me what was going on?

And then all of the teachers began to line up at the front of the gym.  The students, who had been amazingly quite and well behaved throughout the whole boring thing, suddenly started to perk up and chatter filled the air.  What came next was like a scene out of an award show, minus the awards.  One by one the new homeroom teachers for the year were announced.  Students irrupted into cheering when they got the teacher they wanted and crying when the teacher they wanted was assigned somewhere else.  It was really funny to watch.  Every homeroom has two teachers.  Then there appear to be five other staff assigned to the grade as well.  For what?  I have no idea.  I’ll let you know when I figure it out.

After that I was sent back to the office to spend my spare time doing whatever it is I do.  (Blog writing, mostly.)  I swear I actually work sometimes, but I’ve had so much free time lately that I am out of busy work.  I wrote up all of the lesson plans for the rest of the year’s elective English class.  Once classes start I’ll be much busier and I’m really looking forward to that.  I even have two more classes this year than I did last year.  Bring it!

One thought on “Yet Another Ceremony

Leave a Reply

