Jodi and the Cultural Festival, Part 1

For the past few weeks, the students have been preparing for the school cultural festival.  For the last week we have been on a special class schedule that ended early so the students had more time in the afternoon to practice for the big day.  As per usual, no one has tried to include me in the event more than as part of the teacher’s skit, but we’ll get to that later.

On Saturday I rode to school with my big backpack packed stuffed full.  The day’s plan was to be at school for the cultural festival all day, leave my bike at school, hop on the train to Tsuno, and join my friends for a braai (the South African word for barbecue.  We were told that we needed to refer to it as a braai and only a braai under penalty of expulsion from the event.)  I would then spend the night in Tsuno at the cabins they had booked and then get on the 7:07 train back to Hyuga.

The gym all set up for the day's festivities.

The gym all set up for the day’s festivities.

Part one of the day went as expected.  I rode my bike to school, dropped my stuff, and went to the gym for the day’s activities.  Day one of the cultural festival was just performances in the gym.  The dance club performed.  The band performed.  The business club gave their speech that won in our prefectural competition, but didn’t even place in the all-Kyushu competition.  The speech contest who got second place gave her speech.  It had been a little over a week since the competition and she hadn’t been practicing, so she regressed a bit and wasn’t at her best, but everyone else was incredibly impressed.  Right before she went up to speak she was really nervous, so I was supposed to give her a few words of encouragement.  I had to bite my tongue to keep from mentioning that no one would know what she was saying anyway, so she basically just had to make it look convincing.  (And, just as I thought, everyone kept commenting to me about how impressive she was.)

That flower is made up of hundreds, if not thousands, of pictures of the first year students.

That flower is made up of hundreds, if not thousands, of pictures of the first year students.

 

There was a taiko performance that was really cool.

IMG_0673

There was also a fashion show.  All of the students made their own dresses.  The pictures aren’t the best quality, I was taking the pictures with my phone.  But the good news is I don’t have to worry about blurring anyone’s faces.

The day was good for the most part.  Or, I should say, the performances were good.  It was a rough day, but I’ll leave that explanation until the next post.

 

Leave a Reply

