Better Know a Placement

For today’s installment, we will take a look at Japan’s 11th Block.  The fighting eleventh!

Block 11 encompasses Kagoshima, Kumamoto, Miyazaki, and Okinawa.

AJET, or The Association for Japan Exchange and Teaching, an organization for JETs, run by JETs, is divided into blocks.

AJET, or The Association for Japan Exchange and Teaching, an organization for JETs, run by JETs, is divided into blocks.

My prefecture, Miyazaki, is on the western coast of Kyushu, the southern most island of the four main islands of Japan.  The area of Miyazaki is 2,580.97 square miles.  It’s population, as of December 2012, is 1,128,412, or 437.2/sq mi, which will be a major change from Des Moines which has a population density of 2,515.6/sq mi.  Miyazaki-ken is home to two major sports teams, the Honda Lock S.C. soccer team and the Miyazaki Shining Suns basketball team.

Miyazaki is also known for it’s onsen, or hot springs.  And, as much of Japan, Miyazaki has many beautiful shrines.

Unlike other parts of Japan, though, Miyazaki has Sun Messe Nichinan:

And the Ocean Dome:

An indoor beach.  I know this place was closed for renovations a little while ago, but I think it has reopened or will reopen soon.  It’s bound to be absolutely packed with people, but I hope to visit it at least once.

But even if it’s never open again, there are still so many beautiful places around Miyazaki for me to visit.  I may even be *gasp* tan by the time I get home, but I’m not holding my breath.

Though this will be a major change of pace and lifestyle for me, I am really looking forward to it.  I’m also pretending that there won’t be any giant bugs that I have to deal with.

That’s all for now.  Join me next time for the next installment of Better Know A Placement.

Leave a Reply

